The Hanging Bridge at Kolencherry, Kerala

Last week I just had to visit a place named Kolencherry in the Ernakulam District in  Kerala for some personal needs. Kolencherry is an ancient town in Kerala and lies between Muvattupuzha and Kochi. It is  a moderately busy town, and while I was there I got an opportunity to go to the more rural areas of the city along with my friend.

My friend told me that he will take me to a place where I can witness something special. After travelling around 4 kilometers from Kolencherry, we reached a placed  named Thammanimattom. I was surprised to see a amazing piece of architecture in the form of  a hanging bridge across the Muvattupuzha river.

The hanging bridge is narrow in size and one can take a walk from one side of the bridge to the other side.  When I was there there were hardly more than 20 visitors on the spot and this really made me understand the fact that this attractions is still unexplored by the people.

The hanging bridge at Thammanimattom is a good and calm picnic spot and one can even take a shower in the river below. The Muvattupuzha river below the bridge is relatively safe and not too deep. So you can easily take a bath while on your trip to this place.

The Ernakulam district is home to some of the most eco friendly travel spots in Kerala and this place is very much eco friendly and provides you an amazing feeling. There is also a Toddy shop just before the bridge where you can enjoy Toddy along with some typical food that are available only in the Toddy shops of Kerala.

The presence of the toddy shop might be an issue when we think about the female travellers as they might not feel comfortable with the presence of the shop. But for the male travellers, this is an exciting place and you can rarely see such an amazing short travel destination in Kerala.

So if you happen to pass by Kolencherry, then you should visit this place if you have some time to spare.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hanging Bridge at Kolencherry, Kerala

  1. Darrell says:

    Your stories about India is very interesting to read. I was not in India, but a lot of reading about this amazing country. I hope someday to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • iamgka says:

      Thanks for the comment Darrell. I am also not a traveller, but I like to read about the various travel places in India and blog about it. Yes, you are always welcome to India…

      Like

Leave a Reply

